Are People Overpaid??

Sometimes I just can’t get enough of California!!!  If you have missed any of my “Are People Overpaid” posts, please look through the archives.

Today, the same as YESTERDAY, let’s stay in California:

County to keep paying jailed assessor’s $197,000 salary – for now” – LA Times

“Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors met Tuesday to discuss the fate of Assessor John Noguez, but did not remove him from office and will allow him to continue receiving his $197,000 salary while he’s in jail.”

Huh???  I had to read some more of the article, but here are the main points:

1)  Noguez, who was elected assessor in 2010.

2)  Noguez has been in jail since mid-October.

3)  Noguez is charged with taking $185,000 in bribes from a tax consultant — and campaign fundraiser — to lower property taxes for his clients.

4)  While on leave, he got a cost-of-living raise in July, boosting his annual salary from $192,000 to $197,000.

Here is a quote from the article:

“Elected officials in California typically can’t be removed from office unless they are convicted of a job-related crime or voted out in a recall.”

OK, I can understand that, I mean if you were in “politics”, one of your enemies could get you falsely charged.  I don’t want anyone to lose their job just because they have been charged.

BUT, here is where I have a problem.  THIS GUY IS STILL GETTING PAID…..to do NOTHING related to his JOB for AT LEAST 6 months and COUNTING!!!

And people wonder why California is going BANKRUPT?!!

I’ll leave you with another quote, my highlights:

“Noguez, who was elected assessor in 2010, has not worked since June, when he placed himself on paid leave of absence to concentrate on preparing a legal defense to the corruption allegations swirling around him.”

P.S. – I am going to place myself on “paid leave of absence”, do you think my employer will go for that???

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

